WMLCPS Welcomes New Educators

WMLCPS Welcomes New Educators
Newest Faculty Members

Students arrived at Westmoreland County Public Schools for a new school year on August 8, 2022. They encountered a new building, Westmoreland High School, new entrances, at Montross Middle School and Cople Elementary, and lots of excitement from everyone. They also met some new teachers, who eagerly awaited their students.

Each year, new teachers are welcomed to a week-long orientation session which includes fun, learning, classroom essentials, and preparing for the upcoming year. This year’s cohort of new instructors are a familiar mix of experienced teachers and new to the profession. Several of these new teachers are homegrown right here in Westmoreland County. These graduates of Washington & Lee High School have returned to grace the hallowed halls of Westmoreland Public Schools as teachers with a whole new innovative insight. Students and parents will be pleased and delighted with the expertise these new teachers bring to the classroom.

The new teachers were introduced to the Westmoreland family at the week-long New Teacher Orientation program held prior to the start of school. As part of orientation, the teachers completed requirements for employment and licensure. Elizabeth Bowen, from the Westmoreland County Department of Social Services presented a workshop on Child Abuse Recognition & Mandated Reporting. New teachers also participated in several division-led workshops on a variety of topics including use of division technology; division pacing guides and instructional resources; classroom management and effective intervention strategies; an overview of the Olweus Bullying Prevention Program; and an introduction to the Pathwise Mentor Teacher Program. Teachers also had the opportunity to work in their schools and begin setting up their classrooms.

Westmoreland County Public Schools welcomes the following new educators to its staff; Cople: Shannon Carey-Reynold, Mayette Saberon, and counselor, Mikka Schacherer; Washington District Elementary: Paula Willoughby; Montross Middle School: Kristie Mack, Patricia Ptucha, Caitlyn Rodgers, Shaneka Tate, and Sherry Wells; and Westmoreland High School: Paris Hickman, Konika Lewis, and Daniel Webb.